A Different Season

ISBN 978-0-9655865-5-9

ISBN 978-0-9655865-5-9

A Different Season: A Practical Guide for Growth While Grieving a Death, by Joseph Robert Pfeiffer, LCSW, was inspired by Joe’s personal experiences with the sudden loss of his 18 year old nephew and both his parents. Joe brings over 25 years of counseling experience to bear on the pain which comes to us all through the death of someone we love.

A Different Season is a unique book that . . .

  • Helps you understand grief work
  • Provides practical strategies to help you cope with loss
  • Provides brief and concise information
  • Meditations to comfort your spirit
  • Contains a self-assessment inventory


The following is a sample page of A Different Season:


What buyers are saying about A Different Season:

“A Different Season contains essential elements for helping one understand and endure the grief process. It helps those weathering the storm find words to express the depth of their pain, yet, it is also faithful to offer them a glimpse of light, no false hope, to which they may cling until the skies begin to clear.”

Brent Powell
Director Chaplain Services
St. Jude Children’s Hospital, Memphis, TN


What reviewers are saying about A Different Season:

“A remarkable book that offers an innovative approach to grief. A very good book for the bereaved who will allow themselves to measure their own needs as they read what they feel helps them at the moment. Everything is brief. That’s a gift in this book. Helpful to counselors, caregivers, support groups, libraries and an outstanding gift item.”

Rev. Richard B. Gilbert


A Different Season, in a gentle way, brings up issues a grieving person might not even realize. It’s one of the best approaches to dealing with death I’ve seen in a long time. The book reassures the reader that there is no right or wrong way to grieve. Pfeiffer has woven reflections on the seasons, reminding readers that time is of the greatest assistance when facing the death of a loved one.”

Barbara Stinson Lee


“When faced with the death of a loved one, people are often comforted by reflecting on nature. The cycle of life causes trees to drop their leaves only to sprout new ones after a few months. A Different Seasonis a personal guide to grieving, and it uses the rhythm of seasonal change to guide those left behind through their mourning.

A Different Season is organized into four parts; each is paired with a particular season. The seasons are arranged to reflect the order of emotions a mourner will likely encounter. The first section, “Chilling Visions of Wintertime,” describes the sense of bleakness that frequently accompanies the first moments of grief. Next, “Evolving Landscapes of Autumn” focuses on how life will feel changed and in transition after losing a loved one. The third section, “Reaping the Harvests of Summer,” describes the confusing moments when life seems to contain joy and hope through grief is still present.

Pfeiffer’s tone is well-matched to the purpose of the book: to comfort and to guide. His reflections on what the reader may be feeling are both accurate and insightful.

The most effective feature of the book is the “Healthy Thought” items that are included on almost every page. These thoughts cut to the chase of how to cope with loss by reminding the reader of what they are too distracted to acknowledge. For example, he notes, “the most loving tribute you can give to the one you lost is to love and care for yourself” and “the intensity of what you are feeling will eventually diminish.” While in the midst of grief, it is easy to forget to take care of oneself and it is easy to think that the pain will never go away. The daily affirmations contained in A Different Season can protect mourners from ever reaching the depths of true despair.”

ForeWord CLARION Reviews


Grieving can be a messy business. Those who have suffered pain and loss know that the path that leads us toward coping with and integrating those realities into our lives is not straight. At times we may feel that we have our emotions under control, that we can “handle it,” and then, suddenly, grief seems to loop around and we are hit by overwhelming feelings of sadness. Grieving is not limited by time. While the writing and meditations are concise and to the point, I think the directness is a reflection of the way it is organized, as well.

It is divided into the four seasons beginning with “Chilling Visions of Wintertime” and (going “backwards”) ending with “Surprising Moments of Springtime.” Although the book is divided the way it is, it does not adhere to a timeline and there is nothing to stop the reader from going back and forth and finding whatever meditations and thoughts seem to help. The one page readings are down to earth. At the end of each “season” is a self-assessment inventory which is simple, but could well trigger some soul-searching. Under “How Am I Coping?”, the 10 to 1 scale goes from “Appropriately Healthy” to “Inappropriately Destructive.” “What Intensity of Anger Do I Have?” has a scale from “None” to “Furious.” There are two appendices and an index, all helpful. A page near the end directs the readers to say to themselves, “I will attend to my grief as long as I need to.”

This book is small enough to carry around and that is a plus. In addition to getting this book for yourself, it is possible to order this book from the author who will sign it, enclose a handwritten message from you, and send to whomever you wish – a thoughtful gift for someone who needs the support this book would provide.

Rev. Suzanne Hope Graham, M.Div., BCC


For ordering information, please contact us or feel free to order directly from our Ordering page.